top of page

The Ruts Mighty Crack 20/2/23

Originally released on Virgin in 1979, representing the very apex of politically conscious British Post-Punk, Proper Records, in collaboration with Universal Music Recordings, have just reissued on vinyl, 'The Crack', the debut LP from the much-loved The Ruts, of which the Punk iconoclasts are today's Video Of The Day, filmed in 1980 at Théâtre de l'Empire in Paris. Comprising of guitarist Paul Fox, vocalist Malcolm Owen, drummer Dave Ruffy and bassist John ‘Segs’ Jennings, the band, formed in West London in 1977, played many Rock Against Racism benefit concerts and rose to prominence supporting The Damned in early 1979. The iconic album artwork by John Howard (pictured) shows the members of the group seated on a large sofa, surrounded by their contemporaries like Rat Scabies and Captain Sensible of The Damned, Jimmy Pursey of Sham 69, Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, John Peel on the left, as Jimi Hendrix looks on from the right.


bottom of page