top of page

Defying Gravity 14/6/17

Mr. Big plants the flag between past, present and future with ‘Defying Gravity’, the band’s ninth original studio album - due to be released on Friday 21st July. Recorded in just six days at Ocean Studios in Burbank, California, the album reunites Mr. Big with producer Kevin Elson (Journey, Europe, Lynyrd Skynyrd), who is back behind the boards for the first time since helming the band’s first four albums. ‘Defying Gravity’ deftly showcases that patented Mr. Big blend of crunch and melody, from the freight-train ride of opening cut ’Open Your Eyes’ to the harmony-laden wonderment of ‘Damn I’m In Love Again’, to the their current single ‘Everybody Needs A Little Trouble' (Vid Of The Day), to the nostalgia trip of ‘1992’ (recalling the days when the band was flying high at the top the singles charts with their international smash ‘To Be With You’) to the barnstorming slide-Blues closing track, ‘Be Kind’. Featuring Eric Martin - vocals, Paul Gilbert - guitar, Billy Sheehan - bass, Pat Torpey - drums with Matt Starr –- drums, overall, the album is prime evidence that the only thing Mr. Big remains tethered to is their ongoing pursuit of achieving creative excellence.


bottom of page